Guides: Subject Guide ~ Art and Art History: Home

We Suggest

Oxford Art Online
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Art & Architecture Source

Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 770 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art. Coverage: 1921-present.
JSTOR

Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.

Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection

Art History - Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies on the history of art. Browse the subtopics under these headings:
- 18th-Century Art
- 19th-Century Art
- 20th-Century and Modern Art
- African art
- Ancient and Classical art
- Art Materials and Techniques
- Art of the Middle East and North Africa
- Art of the United States
- Art Theory and Methodology
- Byzantine and Medieval Art
- Contemporary Art
- East Asian Art
- Latin American and Caribbean Art
- Oceanic and Australian Art
- Renaissance and Baroque Art
- South and Southeast Asian Art
Medieval History - Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies compiled on topics in medieval history - covering European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries, and many disciplines - from history to literature, art to archaeology, and religion to gender studies.

See All Guides and Databases

Get Help