Guides: Subject Guide ~ Cinema and Media Studies: Articles

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Film Literature Index
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to 17 JSTOR collections with more than 2,300 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
Library owns:
Arts & Sciences collections I-XV
Business
Life Sciences collection
Security Studies collection
Sustainability collection
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the 20th century. To find reviews published during a film's initial release, enter the movie title in one search box and the phrase "motion picture reviews" in another.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1900-present.
Getting Started with Web of Science
Videos

Journal of Religion and Film
A peer-reviewed journal committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined.

Variety
Recognized and respected throughout the world of show business, Variety is the premier source of entertainment news. Since 1905, the most influential leaders in the industry have turned to Variety for timely, credible and straightforward news and analysis — information vital to their professions.

Film Review Index
Call Number: Ref PN1995 .F463
Retrospective bibliography of articles on films released between 1882 and 1985 that have established themselves as being of high interest to researchers and students.