The AFI Catalog database is an ongoing project that contains filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year for the years 2000 through 2006. To date, the AFI Catalog database includes extensive entries on over 30,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films.
The Anime Encyclopedia by Jonathan Clements; Helen McCarthy
Call Number: REF NC1766.J3 C53 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors by Alexander Jacoby; Donald Richie (Foreword by)
Call Number: REF PN 1998.2 .J29 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Film Art by David Bordwell; Kristin Thompson
Call Number: PN1995 .B617 2012
Publication Date: 2012
History of the American Cinema by Charles Musser; Charles H. Harpole (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1993.5.U6 H55 1990
Publication Date: 1990-02-01
v. 1. The emergence of cinema ; the American screen to 1907 / Charles Musser
v. 2. The transformation of cinema, 1907-1915 / Eileen Bowser
v. 3. An evening's entertainment / Richard Koszarski
v. 4. American cinema's transition to sound, 1926-1931 / Donald Crafton
v. 5. Grand design, Hollywood as a modern business enterprise, 1930-1939
v. 6. Boom and bust, Hollywood in the 1940's / Thomas Schatz
v. 7. The fifties, transforming the screen / Peter Lev
v. 8. The sixties / Paul Monaco
v. 9. American cinema in the shadow of Watergate and Vietnam, 1970-1979 / David A. Cook
v. 10. Hollywood under the electronic rainbow, 1980-1989 / Stephen Prince.
A History of Narrative Film by David A. Cook
Call Number: PN 1993.5.A1 C65 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Movies and Methods by Bill Nichols
Call Number: PN 1994 .M7
Publication Date: 1976-1985
The Oxford Guide to Film Studies by John Hill (Editor); Pamela C. Gibson (Editor); Richard Dyer (As told to); E. Ann Kaplan (As told to); Paul Willemen (As told to)
Note: Registration required to download images.
An image library for the arts and sciences. A rich collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
The Media Resources Center (MRC) is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats, including DVDs, videocassettes, streamed audio and video, compact audio discs, and audiocassettes. The MRC collection is intended to support the broad range of study and research interests on campus with particularly strong holdings in humanities and social sciences materials, as well as a broad range of general interest materials in the fields of science and technology.
his library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.