Guides: Subject Guide ~ Latin American and Latine Studies: Newspapers/Periodicals

Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

Latin American Weekly Report
LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert English language political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.

World News Connection Archive
Foreign news sources (over 500 news sources from 130 countries) selected for translation by the U.S. government. Coverage: 1995-2013.

NOTE: For current international news in translation see: BBC Worldwide Monitoring: International Reports in Nexis Uni.

Gale OneFile: News
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. For international news by location- Use Advanced Search to access the 'Publication Country or Territory" field in addition to subject searching.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELny is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

InSight Crime
InSight Crime is a think tank and media organization that seeks to deepen and inform the debate about organized crime and citizen security in the Americas by providing regular reporting, analysis, data, investigation, and policy suggestions on how to tackle the multiple challenges they present.
It does this by fusing investigative journalism with academic rigor, building its analysis from extensive ground research, which includes speaking to all the actors, legal and illegal. InSight Crime goes into the field to understand first-hand the criminal dynamics at play across Latin America and the Caribbean. We speak to local sources, government officials, and even the criminals themselves to deliver in-depth investigations.

El Faro
Available in Spanish & English, El Faro is an internationally acclaimed Central American digital news outlet founded in 1998 in El Salvador. In April 2023, El Faro moved its administrative and legal operations to San José, Costa Rica, registering the newsroom as the non-profit Fundación Periódica. El Faro has hewed to the idea that journalism is important for the development of democracy, defending an independent editorial line that defends freedom of the press and expression and promotes a critical analysis of current events in El Salvador and the region. This has permitted El Faro to maintain an editorial stance critical of different governments, whether left- or right-leaning, who have alternated in power since the news outlet was founded.

Mexico

Access World News: Mexico
Full text of local, regional, national and international news from a variety of Mexican news media -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
El Diario de Yucatan
A Mexican daily with special collection on Mayan culture
El Economista
Economic news from Mexico City
El Norte
From Monterrey, Mexico
Pulso
Mexican daily newspaper from San Luis
El Universal
Newspaper from Mexico City

Guatemala

Costa Rica

Access World News: Costa Rica
Three English & three Spanish Costa Rican news sources covering 2003-present
La Nacion
Costa Rican national newspaper

El Salvador

ElSalvador.com
El Salvadoran news- The online version of El Diario de Hoy, which still publishes under that name in print.
La Presa Gráfica
La Prensa Gráfica is a mainstream metropolitan daily newspaper

Honduras

Access World News: South America
Full text of local, regional, national and international news from a variety of South American news media -- newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

Argentina

Access World News: Argentina
Nine news sources with coverage ranging 1996 to present
Ambito Financiero
Financial news from Argentina
Diario Clarin
InfoCañuelas
Daily from Cañuelas (Buenos Aires)
La Nacion
One of Argentina's national newspapers.
La Nueava Provincia
Online news from Bahia Blanca City, Argentina.

Bolivia

El Diario- La Paz
Founded in 1904, it is Bolivia's oldest newspaper and considered a newspaper of record for Bolivia. The newspaper traditionally followed a conservative position
El Mundo
A newspaper published in Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia.

Brazil

Access World News: Brazil
Database contains twenty newspapers from across Brazil, dates vary by title, coverage spans 1996 to present.

Chile

Access World News: Chile
Four Chilean news sources with coverage ranging from 2005 to present
El Mercurio
Conservative Chilean newspaper with editions printed in both Santiago and Valparaiso
La Tercera
Daily newspaper published in Santiago

Colombia

Access World News: Colombia
Ten Colombian news sources with coverage ranging 1997 to present.
El Espectador
from Bogota, Colombia
El Pais
From Cali, Colombia
Semana
A weekly magazine about Colombia

Peru

Access World News: Peru
Six sources- 5 in Spanish, 1 in English- with coverage ranging from 1997 to present.
Caretas
A weekly newsmagazine from Peru
El Comercio
Lima, Peru
La Republica
A daily from Lima, Peru

Venezuela

Access World News: Venezuela
Four Venezuelan news sources with coverage ranging from 1995 to present.
El Nacional
From Caracas, Venezuela
El Universal
From Caracas, Venezuela
Venezuela Analitica
A journal of political and economic analysis

Cuba

Access World News: Cuba
Historical Cuban newspapers- 48 publications, each with their own date ranges, spanning 1810-1870s.
14ymedio
14ymedio is the first independent digital media outlet in Cuba. It was founded on May 21, 2014, by the Cuban blogger and activist Yoani Sánchez and the Cuban journalist Reinaldo Escobar. Available in both Spanish and English.
Granma
The official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Cuban Communist Party.
Trabajadores
Cuban trade union newspaper
Juventud Rebelde
Newspaper of the Unión de Jóvenes Comunistas.

Dominican Republic

Diario Libre
One of the Dominican Republic's leading newspapers, it is published daily and distributed for free.
Listín Diario
One of the leading newspapers in the Dominican Republic, and the oldest still being published.
El Nacional
A subscription-based newspaper founded in 1996.

Puerto Rico

Access World News: Puerto Rico
Two historical sources with brief coverage (1843 & 1860) and two current sources (2006-present)
El Nuevo Dia
Puerto Rico's largest circulating newspaper
El Vocero
Puerto Rico's second most widely circulated newspaper
Primera Hora
Distributed free of charge and printed Monday to Friday, Primera Hora's homepage is also the second most visited local news website in Puerto Rico.

New York Times
Registration and additional NYT sources.
A national daily newspaper with worldwide influence and readership, often regarded as the "newspaper of record" in the U.S.
Wall Street Journal

Registration and additional WSJ sources.
An American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. Coverage: 1998-present.
Washington Post
Registration and additional WaPo sources.
The U.S. capital region's leading daily newspaper distinguished for its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government.